jump to navigation

Meme of 8 May 20, 2007

Posted by sensawunda in Memes.
trackback

My cousin has tagged me for my very first meme! I think it’s cool that it’s about 8s. A bit of Bible analysis that has stuck in my head for years is that seven is the number of completion… but sometimes scripture goes even beyond that to eight, for special significance. For example, Ecclesiastes 11:2—”Give a portion to seven, and also to eight; for thou knowest not what evil shall be upon the earth.” Ever since then I have thought of eight as the number of transcendence. And we like transcendence, here at Sense of Wonder!

Here are the rules of the meme:

1: Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
2: People who are tagged, write a blog post about their own 8 random things, and post these rules.
3: At the end of your post you need to tag 8 people and include their names.
4: Don’t forget to leave them a comment and tell them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

Seven random facts about me, yea, eight as random as I can get them:

1. I play solitaire on my PDA obsessively.

2. A friend once called me a “closet exhibitionist.” Oxymoron???? It was at the time… but doesn’t it sound like a blogger?

3. I spent the summer of 1986 in China on a college exchange-program-type-thingie. I’m strongest in shopping vocabulary. Duoshao qian yi jin?

4. I LIKE airplane food. (Alas, they don’t serve it any more.)

5. My great-grandfather played 4 instruments, led a polka band, and held Saturday night dances in a dance hall in the corner of the pasture on his Nebraska farm. I inherited his fiddle. It has a hand-carved tailpiece that appears to be made of cow horn.

6. My brother and I used to rescue frog eggs from a pond we knew would dry up in the summer. We put them in a fishbowl and watched them hatch and grow from tadpoles to tree frogs. Then we released them at a shady stream.

7. In the rain forest on the Olympic Peninsula, when I was in the 6th grade, I saw a snake swallowing a frog. The frog was calling, “eep! eep!”

8. People often say to me, “You’re tall!” My reply: “I know.”

Now for the tagging. Thing is, I can’t think of eight bloggers I’d feel comfortable tagging. So much for transcendence. Here’s who I’ve got…

John at Dark Fluidity

annette at Fulcrum Freestyle

Comments»

1. annie - May 20, 2007

I used to like airplane food, too 🙂

2. annette - May 20, 2007

i believe i WILL get you for this at some point, but i’ll have to let those evilly creative juices stew first.

right now, i gotta an entry to attend to.


Leave a Reply

