jump to navigation

So what. Big deal. October 28, 2006

Posted by sensawunda in Books, Not Sensawunda.
trackback

The Da Vinci Code could have employed sensawunda. It coulda used a little sensawunda. Instead, author Dan Brown went for sensational and provocative.

I only read it to see what the fuss was about. (Actually, I listened to the audiobook… I probably wouldn’t have made it through otherwise.) I did get a little het up towards the middle at the quasi-historical claptrap with just enough facts to make it sound plausible.

I guess I should be glad he didn’t get sensawunda in there. If he had, he’d be the high priest of a new religion by now, considering how many people took everything at face value. To whom I say: a) It’s a novel, people. b) Find a university. Take a class. Try “Art History for Non-Majors.”

I realize I’m a bit behind the times. The movie release seems to have damped the interest. But I still wanted to put in my 2 cents.

Sensawundameter: BIG GOOSE EGG

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

