jump to navigation

Monsoon Wedding April 4, 2006

Posted by sensawunda in Movies.
trackback

Monsoon Wedding
This is the first Indian movie I’ve ever seen. I have no idea how typical it is of Indian movies, but it’s fairly accessible for an American audience. I did have to turn on the English subtitles. People switch back and forth between Hindi and English so quickly, I couldn’t keep up when only the Hindi was subtitled.

It’s a modern family drama with little inherent sensawunda. I’m blogging on it partly just to revive my blog and partly because I really did enjoy it.

Personally, I find a certain amount of sensawunda in getting a glimpse into another culture. YMMV. Even if it’s a skewed glance because of its aspirational setting, it’s still a sort of alternate reality, a different angle on life for me.

Sensawundameter:

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

