jump to navigation

Recent reading & watching March 2, 2006

Posted by sensawunda in Books, Movies.
trackback

I haven’t posted any reviews lately, because I haven’t seen or read anything with much of a sensawunda content. That doesn’t mean it hasn’t been good. Most of it has been adult fare, dealing with subjects like AIDS and drug addiction and life under a totalitarian regime… and yet, they can be touched with wonder at times.

A sampling:

RENT – just out on DVD
Sensawundameter: WandWand
Surprisingly transcends its gritty-realism setting.

“Jurisdiction? novel series by Susan R. Matthews
Sensawundameter: WandWand
I’ve been rereading the series to refresh my memory before I start reading book 6, Warring States, due out any minute now. This is the “totalitarian regime? I referred to, and Susan doesn’t pull any punches. Heaven forfend these should ever be made into movies, books 1 and 2 especially; they would go in the same category as A Clockwork Orange: “Movies I Can’t Handle Watching.? (I can handle stuff in a novel that I can’t handle in a movie because I can just stop picturing the events in my head if I want.) And yet there are moments when the protagonist, Andrej Koscuisko, “who is not a nice man,? transcends circumstance and his own demons. He is an embodiment of chaos theory—ripples from his actions gradually, over the course of the series, threaten to shake the entire galactic Jurisdiction government, even though he has no such plan in mind. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

The last YA novels I read were:
Story Time, by Edward Bloor
Fantasy, but doesn’t make the sensawundameter. Its satire was too broad, and it was depressing to boot.

Girl, 15, Charming but Insane, by Sue Limb
Hysterical! Read it for the humor, not for sensawunda.

And one more movie—
Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Sensawundameter: WandWandWand
Came out in 1988, but still holds up as terrific entertainment, even if the novelty’s worn off.

Comments»

1. Annie Frisbie - April 2, 2006

Just finished Girl 15- what fun! Thanks for the recommendation-
Am thinking about you lots- hope things are getting better.

2. sensawunda - April 5, 2006

Glad you liked it!


Leave a Reply

