jump to navigation

Top 10, er… 8 movies of 2005 January 13, 2006

Posted by sensawunda in Movies.
trackback

Please welcome Annie Young Frisbie for this guest entry.
==========================================
I am so astonished at how bad this year was for movies, that I feel
compelled to send you all my top 10- er, 8- of 2005. I’m not proud of
this list 😦

1. Grizzly Man
2. Capote
3. Murderball
4. Serenity
5. Nobody’s Home
6. North Country
7. Batman Begins
8. Land of the Dead

It’s shameful to me that #s 7&8 (and even #6) are the best that I’ve
got, but there you have it.

Honorable Mention:
1. Narnia – in the interest of full disclosure, I should let you know
that my companion that evening got violently ill halfway through, so I
left before Aslan made his appearance. I wasn’t exactly blown away,
though I was enjoying myself, but it didn’t break my heart to leave.
Wardrobe is my least favorite of the Narnia books, probably because of
the animated movie they used to show every year on TV. It’s so
familiar that it doesn’t move me, really. My only hope is that they
do get to make all seven, as I’m dying for Voyage of the Dawn Treader
(I had a Dawn Treader cake for my 6th birthday party).

2. Exorcism of Emily Rose – I absolutely applaud Scott Derrickson’s
sincerity and efforts with this film.

3. Me & You & Everyone We Know – Miranda July is an incredibly
annoying performance artist, but this film gets honorable mention for
being better than she deserves, and for “the same poop, back and
forth, forever.” If you saw the movie you know what I mean. If you
didn’t, I’m not sure it’s worth seeing just for the poop, but I
laughed until I cried.

4. Broken Flowers – Bill Murray is a national treasure. Jim Jarmusch
needs to stop resting on his laurels.

Worst:
Crash. What a phony, hollow, faux-vocative piece of hooey.

Best Rental:
Incident of Loch Ness

Best of 2004 that I saw in 2005:
Finding Neverland should have made my top 10.

Worst of 2004 that I saw in 2005:
Million Dollar Baby is nothing but a pack of lies wrapped in sentiment
wrapped in a tragically good performance by Hillary Swank.

Still to see that I hear are good: Good Night, and Good Luck; The
Squid and the Whale; Match Point; King Kong – but my heart isn’t
exactly racing to see these, either

Comments»

1. annie - February 5, 2006

I will add Junebug to the honorable mention list- not a perfect movie, but Amy Adams’ performance is well worth the acclaim. My husband the Texan says that it’s even better if you’re from the South.

2. sensawunda - February 6, 2006

Thanks for the update, Annie! I’ll have to check it out. Maybe I lived in Texas long enough to “get” it. 😉

3. garyM - February 22, 2007

with posts like this how long before we give up the newspaper?!!


Leave a Reply

